Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    luv2boat38 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Apr 15, 2007, 01:27 PM
    GFI switch
    My GFI switch has poped and will not reset.
    Kstar4u Posts: 255, Reputation: 22

Apr 15, 2007, 03:30 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by luv2boat38
    My GFI switch has poped and will not reset.
    Do you remember when it tripped and what caused the GFCI to "pop"? I've found that most GFCI equipped outlets need to be replaced pretty often. I would replace it... If you still have a problem (the new GFI trips when you turn the circuit back on), something using that circuit is either drawing too much "juice" or there's a short.

I'm NOT an electrician. This is just a suggestion for you.
    shuntripper Posts: 180, Reputation: 8

Apr 15, 2007, 04:43 PM
    The first thing I ask when this happens is, Have you had any other work done on your building recently? I mean any holes drilled ?crawling in your attic or underneath the building? Have you plugged something new in anywhere? Have you installed some new electrical ? A tripped GFCI indicates a ground fault, a short circuit, another GFCI installed on the same neutral (older GFCIs), disconnected ground wire (ground fault) , or a problem in a downstream GFCI protected outlet.Sometimes it's what is plugged into the outlet. Pass & Seymour make new GFCIs that are less prone to nuisance/false tripping with a light that goes on when they are tripped. This may require a good service electrician to figure out if none of the above helps.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Gfi [ 1 Answers ]

Why won't my GFI let me reset it? It has been fine with the christmas lights until today.

Converting pull switch lights to wall switch [ 3 Answers ]