Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mpking Posts: 12, Reputation: 1

Jan 20, 2007, 11:43 PM
    Bathroom light and outlet.
    Recently purchased a new house. 2 bedroom ranch approx 900sqft.

The house was constructed in 1955. The panel was replaced by the previous owner. (By a professional electrician)

I was a professional Lowvoltage (DataComm) installer for quite some time, so I have experience fishing wires.

All of the wiring has grounds, but they are not connected on the receptacle end. (They were correctly grounded in the new panel)

We're going to replace all the light fixtures and receptacles with 15amp version (These are what the new breakers are)

However the Bathroom is a problem. It has no outlet, and the light is wired into all the other lights in the house. (All ceiling lights in house are on same breaker, individually switched)

I'm running a new 12/2 line to a GFCI outlet in the bathroom, off a 20amp breaker. Wife needs the hairdryer, and I've read on here that NEC requires 20amp outlets in bathrooms.

I also need to add a vent fan (with a light but not in the shower itself, in the center of the room). There is also a second light over the sink (the orignal location) that we want to keep. We'd like to have all the lights on the same switch.

Can (should) all this be on the same 20amp breaker? The receptacle has to feed from the attic (Which is accessible) due to several crossblocks in the wall. I realize I need 20amp switches for this scenario, and would have to remove all the existing wiring.

Assuming this is possible and the desired course I'd imagine running the circuit to a junction box located above the ceiling of the bathroom.
    Take the 1st branch off to the GFCI
    Take the 2nd branch off to a switch to run the Fan
    Take the 3rd branch off to a switch to a junction box, to the two lights?

Also, currently the switch is located in the hallway. Is there any reason I can't relocated it to the inside of the bathroom?