Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    teachermom Posts: 6, Reputation: 1

Jan 20, 2007, 07:30 AM
    Can I replace a light switch with an outlet?
    I am not an electrician, but I have had some luck doing smaller electrical work around my house, and I need some advice.

I have a house built around 1936. Five of the rooms have central lighting. Four other rooms might have had overhead lights at some point, but if so those lights have been removed, the holes patched up, and the ceilings repainted. (The reason I think so is that those four rooms have light switches that seem to control nothing -- no lights, no outlets.)

Here is my primary question

In the master bedroom, I have one light switch that seems to control nothing. I want to replace that switch with an outlet. Can I do this? What are the pros, cons, and dangers of making this change?

Here are some details to help you answer my question: I removed the switch to see what kind of wires are back there. There are three wires, all encased in black insulation; two of the wires are twisted together and the third remains separate. I used a voltage tester and I am unsure as to whether any power actually goes through these wires when the fuses are plugged in (however, power MUST go through them because if I untwist the two wires mentioned above, no outlets work in the entire room -- right?)

BTW Are the two wires twisted together the hot? Is the third, separate wire the neutral?

Thanks for everything...
    Kathleen
    tkrussell Posts: 9,659, Reputation: 725
    Uber Member

Jan 20, 2007, 08:05 AM
    Well you using the right words, hot, neutral, etc. and you using a voltage tester. And with the tester you cannot find 120 volts? As you seen to already know you need both a hot and a neutrla to connect to an outlet. A switch box may or may not have a neutral in it depending on how the circuit was cabled.

You don't say which wires were connected to the switch, or if at all.