Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jaimeg22 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Oct 28, 2009, 01:58 PM
    Fingerprinting clearance pending court disposition
    I recently was fingerprinted because I am studying to become an elementary school teacher. I received a letter from the state saying that I have pending court charges surrounding charges I received almost 8 years ago which I had been told would be sealed. The letter states that "the final court dispositions were not reported by the court to the state repository". Will this stop me from being cleared? If it is the courts mistake, would the state education department be able to hold this against me now?
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Oct 28, 2009, 02:01 PM

It appears it has stopped you from being cleared.

I would get an Attorney and get this cleared up now.

Certain information shows up on a background check. People fail background checks based on sealed records, depending on the type of license.
    ballengerb1 Posts: 27,378, Reputation: 2280
    Home Repair & Remodeling Expert

Oct 28, 2009, 02:42 PM

What were you charged with, only certain offsenses will prevent you from being eligible for employment. Not sure where you are but in Illinois the state certification board has nothing to do with this. Indidvidual school districts will require inger printing/back ground check after they have decided to offer you a position.
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Oct 28, 2009, 02:44 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by ballengerb1 View Post
    What were you charged with, only certain offsenses will prevent you from being eligible for employment. Not sure where you are but in Illinois the state certification board has nothing to do with this. Indidvidual school districts will require inger printing/back ground check after they have decided to offer you a position.