Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    islandofdreams Posts: 7, Reputation: 1

Apr 27, 2007, 01:10 PM
    No Friends!
    I will try to keep this short. I am a professional working mother, I am fortunate to work from home office 90% of the time. I had a great career prior to taking this post internally. My family lives in a small community somewhat set apart from the "normal" world and there are not a lot of similar types of women my age.

My issue is that we don't have many friends. I am relatively still new to our town (4 years) but I don't feel as though I have cultivated any friendships (I have three good female friends in our town). I have two children that I do a lot of activities with, playground, organized playgroups, dance class etc.. I go to as many events as I can to get to know the other mothers etc.. However, as I work my nanny takes them most of the time.

I always introduce myself to other mothers and people at parties (the very few we have attended) etc.. However, people do not seem to like me! My husband and I are never invited to parties or dinner etc.. We have reached out to other couples etc.. And gone to dinner but the invitation has never been reciprocated. My older daughter has only been invited to 2 birthday parties and we just feel like losers!

Due to our jobs and kids we don't have a great deal of free time and it is difficult to take up activities outside of the home other than going to the playground.

I am telling you, sometimes people look at me as though I have three heads. I am a nice person, don't talk behind people's backs etc.. We are fun, intelligent and love people. What is wrong with us/me?

Any advice out there?
    iscorpio Posts: 124, Reputation: 17

Apr 27, 2007, 01:22 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by islandofdreams