Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    caringmother Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

May 26, 2014, 02:35 AM
    19 Year Old Daughter
    Hi. This is my first time on the site asking a question. I have a 19 year old daughter who is currrently 1st year at University. She stays in a flat about 45min from home to be closer to University. She comes home every weekend. As a mother is it unfair from me to expect her to be home at 12h00 at night when she goes out? The problem that I have with this is - am I setting this rule for just being able to do so as I am the parent and that is the way I was brought up - you do as your mother as father says? I have read many posts and some say that as a parent you have the right to do so and others say that adult children should be able to make their own choices. My husband is very leniant when it gets to house rules which leads to our children playing us. I am really confused and do not know what is the right thing to do.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

May 26, 2014, 02:58 AM
    If she is coming home, is it not to visit you ? If it is to go out and party and run around with friends, why not go to her own home at night.

Midnight is very early for a 19 year old in university. So I may say I think the time is not reasonable for her age.

But with that said, it is your house and you have every right to set rules. I can not believe anyone would say a adult child can do like they want. If it is not their home.
    Cat1864 Posts: 8,007, Reputation: 3687
    Marriage Expert

May 26, 2014, 05:44 AM
    I am wondering what your motivation for setting a curfew is and what your expectations are. If it is because she gets in trouble or you are afraid for her safety, that is one thing. If it is because 'parents make rules and children abide by them', that is another. Do you have a set of house rules that you expect everyone including guests to abide by?

Do you think of your daughter as a child or a young adult?