Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Luve1989 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Feb 19, 2013, 10:39 AM
    Back surgery
    I am a nurse in a doctors office which requires me to lift dead weight patients due to waking them up after anesthesia. I suddenly had excruciating pain at work, ended up at ER and showed extruded disc l4 which required surgery. I was out for one month. Back to work, and now same disc has herniated again. I have to go out for revision surgery which means I will be out another two weeks. My surgeon stated that this disc was not from degeneration it was due to something sudden, could have been lifting patients. He does believe this should have been a workers comp case, but I didn't do that with the first surgery. I am now concerned with excessive absenteeism that u could be fired. Can a company fire you if you have a workers comp claim? Just trying to figure out the best way to keep my job.
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Feb 19, 2013, 11:00 AM
    Has your office ever heard of lifting devices that are used for non-weight bearing clients?

I suggest you put this in your suggestion box. You should never have been allowed to lift a client who is not weight bearing. How in the heck did you accomplish that?

I don't think you will lose your job; it was a work related incident and therefor covered by workmens comp, and a doctor's note information them how long you will have to be absent; in fact there may be a lot of questions asked regarding their treatment of employees.

Question though. How is it that a 'doctor's office' is doing surgery that requires anesthesia?
    smoothy Posts: 25,490, Reputation: 2853
    Uber Member

Feb 19, 2013, 11:11 AM
    Expect a long fight for workmans comp (as in well over a year at least), Its supposed to be quick and a low threshold of proof... but the reality is they fight you every step of the way.