Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    celinatorro Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Dec 24, 2012, 02:23 PM
    Just broke up with my boyfriend.
    Hello everyone. So I broke up with my boyfriend for many reasons one being the fact that right now I need to focus on my studies. I'm 23 and I'm a med student, I've been so distracted with my relationship this semester I didn't do well in my classes. My future career is everything to me.

Two, he's younger than I am, he's 19 I'd be doing him a favor, he needs to be doing whatever he wants not being stuck with me. I'm convenient for him, we live down the block from each other and we do have tons of fun but I know he can find that with someone else.
    Lastly, where will this really go? I'm Indian and my family are Christians strict and his family are Pakistani Muslims. I know that shouldn't matter at all and it doesn't to us now but in the future it will matter when it comes to raising a family and dealing with our families accepting us.

I know it's probably for the best, for both of us but I feel extremely awful and hurt. I know I've hurt him as well because he's so upset about it I mean he told me to never text him or talk to him again. It feels so wrong and I know you can't give me answers but did I make an overall good decision? Why is he acting like this is only hard for him?
    talaniman Posts: 54,325, Reputation: 10855
    Expert

Dec 24, 2012, 05:14 PM
    What do you expect from a heart broken youngster who just got dumped and doesn't understand why??

Leave him alone and let him learn to deal with his heart break. Some day he may understand how hard this was on you, but that may be a long time in the future.
    fredg Posts: 4,926, Reputation: 674
    Ultra Member

Dec 24, 2012, 05:27 PM
    I am 70 yrs old, married for 7 yrs, divorced in 1975, then remarried for 30 years. My wife died 6 years ago from smoking; bad lungs.