Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    nurseED Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jan 15, 2012, 11:07 PM
    What to do if falsely accused of HIPAA violation?
    I am a nurse. In our hospital, only the olive can place a patient on a psychiatric 5150 hold. I was instructed by the MD to call the police for an evaluation on my pt. When the police arrived, they knew this pt. Quite well for past methamphetamine problems. He was wearing an ankle bracelet for parole. ( why, I don't know). I did the ordered drug screen on the pt. It came back positive for meth. That meant that he was not going to be on a 5150 hold. Hi behavior was due to drugs, not psychiatric issues. I told the police he was positive for meth. The doctor said that I violated the pt. Rights by telling the police this info. I told them the info so they could do a full and fair evaluation on the pt. I ended up being fired for this. The hospital stated I violated hospital policy. There was no policy on divulging information to the police. 3 months after I was fired, they came out with a new policy. I had been there for 6 years, never a write up or discipline in any way. 1 week after I was fired, the manager who fired me, was fired for unknown reasons. Even though the hospital is an 'At will" employment, did they have the right to fire me for something like this? Did I violate any HIPAA laws? They said " You violated California State law, Cival law and HIPAA laws.I have not heard anything from anyone since I was fired. Do I have a case or am I wasting my time?
    J_9 Posts: 40,298, Reputation: 5646
    Expert

Jan 16, 2012, 12:06 AM
    Yes, you did violate HIPAA. If the police need to know if the person in question is on any substance, they will come in with an order to obtain a sample of blood or urine to be run for their purposes.