Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    cahujones Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Mar 25, 2011, 08:42 PM
    Copper Shower Drain Pipe
    I ripped out my old acrylic shower base and planned to replace it with a new tileable shower base. The problem is once I removed the shower base, I found that the drain pipe was copper not PVC (I should have known, house was built in the 60's). I have not been able to find a brass drain for a tileable shower base. I am a novice in the world of DIY (I probably should not have taken on such an ambitious project) but I've already purchased the shower base so I have to figure how to make it work. I don't know what my next step should be – any insight would be appreciated. The copper pipe sits about 1-1/2” above the floor, which is making the butt up to the top of the pipe?
    Camille
    massplumber2008 Posts: 12,832, Reputation: 1212
    Senior Plumbing Expert

Mar 26, 2011, 03:54 PM

Hi Camille...

Tell us the name of the "tileable" shower base you have, OK? Also, tell me if you have access to the copper pipe from below or are you on a concrete slab? I'd also like to know how you are planning to set the shower base... are you planning to set it into a mortar bed or what does the manufacturer require?

Answer my questions and I'll be able to help you complete the project, OK... ;)

Mark

Mar 28, 2011, 06:35 AM
    Hi Mark,
    Thank you so much.I have the KBRS (Showerbase.com)tileable shower base. I am on a concrete slab but there is a 12"x12" square cut out in the center where the copper pipe about 3" long looks to be welded into another piece of metel that is under ground. The directions for the showerbase say to install the base with thinset & I am supposed to secure the PVC shower drain to the base using silicone. The showerbase will be a snug fit, I'm not really worried about it moving. I really appreciate your help with this.
    Camille
    Senior Plumbing Expert

Mar 28, 2011, 07:25 AM