Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Innocent Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 3, 2007, 04:34 AM
    Fired & accused of theft
    I work in retail and I have an alarm code designated to me only. Someone broke into the store using my passcode and a key.

I received two weeks suspended with pay. Then I had to go in for a meeting which they would not disclose who would be attending or any other details. At that time I was terminated and told that the company did not feel comfortable with me continuing my employment with them. I have no ideal what was stolen, and I have been contacted by police that I will be needed to make a statement.

The passcode was given to me over the phone 2 months ago and it is possible that someone was listening in on other phone. Also where we punch in the code is right in front of a window so it would not be unheard of if someone were to see it.

I know they have no proof against me other then someone used my passcode. I did not break into store I did not steal from them.

Is there any legal actions that I can do to help me through this situation. I do not want bad reputation and I certainly do not want to be wronfully charged.
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Jan 3, 2007, 05:32 AM
    Hello innocent:

Of course, you don't want all those things. So what? Those things are happening.

There's nothing you can do right now. THEY'RE the ones doing the doing. Wait to see what it is, that they're actually going to do. Once that's determined, then you'll know what to do. If not, ask then.

By the way, DON'T give a statement to the cops. In case you didn't understand, DON'T TALK TO THE COPS!!

excon
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Jan 3, 2007, 05:52 AM
    Ok, the evidence is against you at this point, you have been fired, no way to stop that. The police have questioned you, no way to stop that.