Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    pumpkinslion Posts: 14, Reputation: 1

Aug 19, 2010, 01:46 PM
    Cannot connect to internet
    Wireless wlan 1350 dell inspiron. I see the taskbar icon flashing as connect to but internet explorer webpage cannot be displayed,please help. Not sure what going on. Wireless network status says; acquiring network address [firewalled], ip address is 0.0.0.0 automatic private address; I have tried everything,run[cdm or cmd [ipconfig/release and ipconfig/renew and it says no operation can be performed on wireless network connection while it has its media disconnected,please help. I am presently using another computer cause my laptop is the above issues and cannot connect.what can I do to solve this issue,the laptop was given to me so I am new at all the settings,etc.thanks in advance
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Aug 19, 2010, 01:48 PM

The fact that the IP is all zeros indicates the network adapter is not working. Are you trying to connect to your wireless router or what?
    ITstudent2006 Posts: 2,243, Reputation: 329
    Networking Expert

Aug 19, 2010, 02:08 PM

Since it displays that your IP Address is 0.0.0.0 that means one of two things. Either your adapter doesn't work and you're not able to connect to whatever's dishing you IP's (I'm guessing a router) or second, your router isn't setup to do DHCP (which would make no sense unless you were messing with it because it's set to DHCP by default).

Can you get local only to login into your router interface and see iof DHCP is enabled. If so then it's a simple matter of your adapter not working. Do you have another means of connecting to the device in question?

Let Us know

Rick
    pumpkinslion Posts: 14, Reputation: 1

Aug 20, 2010, 12:11 AM
    Cannot connect [wireless issue