Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    zoeypauline Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Aug 12, 2010, 03:21 PM
    How to address a problem with a friends child without insulting them.
    My friend's child is seven and I've been staying at their house for the past couple of weeks and I have noticed that he sucks his thumb almost all of the day.
    At the dinner table, watching TV, just walking around the house.
    The only time I see him not sucking his thumb is when he's doing something active; playing with friends, in the pool, etc.
    At first I thought it was just a little strange until I researched how old most kids quit sucking their thumbs. My result was around one, and that most parents should incourage their children to stop by four if they haven't already quit. Prolonged thumb sucking can cause major dental problems!
    Now I'd like to bring this up with her, but I am scared I might offend her, for I am much younger and have no children, I.E. I'm not very experienced with children. What would be a good approach on bringing this up with her?
    Eileen G Posts: 1,571, Reputation: 286
    Ultra Member

Aug 12, 2010, 04:29 PM

Don't bring it up at all. I can guarantee that your friends have done a lot more reading and research than you have, and are very well aware that their child is old to be thumb sucking.

Do you think their dentist and doctor wouldn't have mentioned it if they saw a problem?

You don't know the background. Their child may have some other sort of problem, which is related to the thumb sucking. If your friends don't mention it and ask you for advice, don't offer it.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Aug 12, 2010, 07:27 PM

Yes, they know the child is doing it
    Jake2008 Posts: 6,721, Reputation: 3460
    Emotional Health Expert

Aug 12, 2010, 07:29 PM