Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    chinesestunna Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 29, 2009, 08:28 PM
    Filing Jointly for Federal with NRA spouse, what about GA State?
    Hi all,

I am a citizen and married a foreign spouse. We are in the process of immigration proceedings but that's another topic :) Anyway, I found out that for this year, we can file jointly for Federal Income Taxes with a W-7 form applying for an ITIN. I'm using TurboTax to prepare my returns.

Just as I thought I had everything figured out - I get to the GA state tax portion. I'm a full time resident but my wife is a Non-Resident Alien and therefore does not have a SSN. Since GA requires me to file under the same status as my Federal (MFJ), what do I put for her SSN (required field)?

Any help would be appreciated!
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Mar 30, 2009, 11:48 AM

For federal tax return, attach W7 with your tax return.
    For GA tax return, get extension. File after you get ITIN.
    You can file as married filing jointly (MFJ) or married filing separately. In most cases, it is better to file as MFJ. If you file MFS, you will not get many credits and deductions.Read Your U.S. Tax Return: Filing Status for Married
    chinesestunna Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 30, 2009, 12:19 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by MukatA View Post
    For federal tax return, attach W7 with your tax return.
    For GA tax return, get extension. File after you get ITIN.
    You can file as married filing jointly (MFJ) or married filing separately. In most cases, it is better to file as MFJ. If you file MFS, you will not get many credits and deductions.Read Your U.S. Tax Return: Filing Status for Married
    Wow thank you so much! A quick follow up question: For the W7 - do I have to send in her passport (original) or can I send a notarized copy along with a notarized copy of our marriage certificate? I'm a little iffy about sending in her original passport...