Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    aleles Posts: 35, Reputation: 1

Mar 18, 2009, 11:33 PM
    Moving expenses from abroad, f1 to h1b
    Dear tax experts,

I went home abroad right after I got my h1b after f1. Basically, I moved to my new job location from my home abroad, even though I graduated from a university in the States before that. My company calculated and reimbursed my moving expenses based on the location of my university in the States. I was wondering, is it possible to actually claim moving expenses calculated from my home abroad rather than a school in the States?

There is an example in the publication 519 where a guy moved from UK and claimed about $8000 of moving expenses.

If it is possible, then what documents do you need to have to claim something, receipts? Do you attach them to your return?
    Also what kind of items you can claim, gas, airfaire, new furniture?

Thank you
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Mar 19, 2009, 02:59 AM

Which return did you file in 2007? When did you leave the U.S. and enter the U.S. on H1-B?

When you left the U.S. did you move with all your goods and left the rented home?

Mar 19, 2009, 07:29 AM

MukatA,

In 2007 I filed 1040NR as a non resident. It was my second year in the States on F1.
    I left the States on Aug 4th an came back on Oct 13th as H1B holder.
    I didn't own any furniture, so I took all my goods and left the rented apartment when I went home. In Oct I flew directly to my new location in another state and purchased all necessary furniture (that I would like to claim as moving expenses if possible) there.

I also need to mention that I got married while I was at home and my wife is coming soon. I'm filing for extension now as you recommended me in one of the previous posts to wait until I meet SPT. If I can claim airfare as moving expenses, can I claim my wife's airfare as well? What are other items that you can claim as moving expenses?

Thank you for your help!