Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    kp42484 Posts: 39, Reputation: 16

Apr 26, 2006, 01:06 PM
    AVG + Stinger--Compatible?
    Hi,

A while back, I worked on someone's PC, and did nothing to it but do virus and spyware scans. I carry McAfee's Stinger standalone program with me on a USB drive and I used this on her PC. It found nothing.

This person had AVG on the PC as well, but I did not run it, as I have never used it before and because of this, didn't want to mess with it! This person has called back saying that I almost crashed her computer, made numerous spyware infect her system, and made her AVG stop updating and even running at all.

The AVG support crew told her that AVG can't be running when another virus scanner is running, as this will give false positives, and generally wreak havoc. I did remove some minor spyware using Spybot, but I fail to see how I caused this person's problems.

My question (at last!) is whether the AVG techs are correct--did I screw up by using Stinger? Thanks in advance to anyone who can reply.
    phillysteakandcheese Posts: 973, Reputation: 356

Apr 26, 2006, 06:56 PM
    Not likely...
    The AVG techs are correct in that you never want two real-time virus scanners running at the same time. For example, you would not want to install AVG Free and Avast Free AV and have them both running at the same time.

McAfee's Stinger is a stand alone file scanner.

I used to run AVG free, and often used the Stinger as a backup - A second opinion.
    I never had a problem at all.
    I have also used the Stinger on other systems running AVG - and other AV products - and had no problems.

I assume that your copy of Stinger was downloaded directly from McAfee website, and that your own system is "clean" of infections.

It is highly unlikely that simply running Stinger on her system caused all the damage she indicated.