Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Boppidy Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Aug 4, 2008, 01:00 AM
    Just moved in with boyfriend.How should we handle the bills in this situation?
    I've been with my boyfriend for 6 months. He asked me to move in and when I accepted I offered to help with bills and he said "don't worry about it." This conversation happened THE DAY I agreed to move in..
    His divorce is almost final and he'll take away about 20k in debt. I have no debt, but I make 35k and he makes 150k. (he doesn't have to pay alimony and there are no kids involved) He probably doesn't know exactly how much I make and I'm an artist, so it's very up and down anyway. I have some family money in stocks and some other money saved. We talk about marriage and I've explained that once married his debt is mine and what I've saved will help pay the debt off. We also agreed that I will continue to save for a down payment on a house for us, which I believe might be one reason why he said not to worry about the bills when I asked to help.
    So, here's what happened! I've been living there for exactly 1 month and everything was wonderful... Until a few nights ago he casually says to me "we need to sit down and divide up the bills." I felt so small, foolish and angry. We had a long talk about it and he said that nothing has changed and that it has nothing to do with his divorce or his feelings for me. He claims he only suggested it because I offered to pay for the phone and storage (I was trying to contribute and as these bills came in I asked if he'd like me to pay them)... he said he thought me offering meant I wanted to "divide things up." It seems like this is the excuse he came up with because I questioned why he changed his mind.