Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    katmitchell Posts: 13, Reputation: 1

May 9, 2008, 05:22 AM
    How do you know when you are ovulating
    Hi I am trying to get pregnant and I am still not sure to when you normaly ovulate, I tried it 14 days last month on a 28 day cycle and I did not get pregnant, so what should I try this month? Because it took 31 days till my period this time not 28 so I don't know what to go by? Also how can you tell if you are ovulating? Or even if you are fertile I am unsure because I am not good at noticing any signs? Can someone help any answers would be super helpful
    DoulaLC Posts: 10,488, Reputation: 1952
    Uber Member

May 9, 2008, 07:33 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by katmitchell
    Hi I am trying to get pregnant and I am still not sure to when you normaly ovulate, i tryed it 14 days last month on a 28 day cycle and I did not get pregnant, so what should i try this month? because it took 31 days till my period this time not 28 so i dont know what to go by? also how can you tell if you are ovulating? or even if you are fertile I am unsure because i am not good at noticing any signs? can someone help any answers would be super helpful
    There are several "signs" that you are likely ovulating; that your body is preparing for ovulation. These do not guarantee that you are however... although it is generally assumed if someone has regular cycles they are likely to also be ovulating. When your cycles are not regular, start with the shortest cycle you normally have. A general guide is that you will ovulate 12 -16 days before the next period is due, but not everyone falls within this range. Some women will naturally ovulate sooner, some later than the norm and trying for a specific date often causes women to miss the small window of ovulation.