Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    warioba Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 26, 2008, 03:26 AM
    designing payment with installment
    I am trying to create a student
    management system and I am new to the access due to the chaos in managing
    student informations and at the moment the college is lack of cash we can
    not afford to hire external company or person to do it.
    I have attempted to create a database to minimise problems but it is
    difficult I have to admit it.

scenario
    --------
    The college register students and we are storing informations manual, our
    students can not afford to pay fees at once, so they divide fees in yearly,
    then to semester, (installment payments) I want to design a database which
    will capture student details and process payments, later I want to add
    course management.
    current I am stuck in
    1. How do I create a payment table or a form which the student is allowed to
    pay annual tuition fees and other fees in installment and at the same time
    the old balance is captured and the difference is then brought to to be
    deducted again when student make a new payments?
    I have tried to have
    tblstudentInformation - which stores student informations,
    tblpaymenttype - which stores type of payments e.g. fees,student
    membership fees etc,
    tblpayment - which is a transaction table for payments

I have then created a query tblpayment query which does the old payment -
    amount deposited = new balance

I do not know if this is how it should be done please correct me
    also when student pays in installment and the balance is overwritten and
    that is where I am not sure what to do could anyone help please,
    I make a confess I am stuck and my knowledge is finish any hand assistance
    will be highly appreciated
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Mar 26, 2008, 06:30 AM