Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    lynxwizard Posts: 77, Reputation: 3

Feb 28, 2008, 11:52 AM
    Weak Moment, Am I doing the right thing ?
    I have a few threads on here about my story, but baiscally my gal left me last summer after 2 years with me to go back to her controlling abusive ex, this is the 3rd time back with him, first 2 were before me (she says he has changed).

Anyhow,she moved in with him after 2 months and got engaged, I love her very much and would love to be with her again, but I am working on moving on, and if by chance she comes back in my life someday, then I will deal with it.

I have been doing NC for a few months now. She works in my building but we never see each other, (thank God) My best friend Pat is friends with her and they still keep in touch.

Today she sends me a email saying "Good Morning, how are you ? would you mind it if I sent you a book to give to Pat ? I hope you have a nice day".

So she wants to send it to me interoffice mail, and I am Ok with that, but I talked to my friend here at work who was a couples counselor for many years who has given me good advice said I should not respond, and that I should ask Pat to email her and say I said its Ok to send the book using interoffice mail.

I think that's what I will do, but I feel bad not responding, but my friend says its my choice, but he knows how I feel about wanting her but thinks its best to do this because it will help on letting go and if its meant to be it will happen one day.

So did I do the right thing by not responding ?
    Marriedguy Posts: 474, Reputation: 115

Feb 28, 2008, 12:02 PM
    That depends on how mature you are. If you are only going to allow her to do that, its OK to respond to her e-mail. But if you are going to be weak about it and allow her to open up a avenue to begin speaking to you. Then responding is not a good idea.
    lynxwizard Posts: 77, Reputation: 3

Feb 28, 2008, 12:21 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by Marriedguy