Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mdemase Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 5, 2008, 09:05 AM
    Basement Bathroom Layout
    Hello,

I've attached the rough-in layout of my basement bathroom. Fortunately, I had pictures while the house was being built so I know the layout of plumbing underneath the slab. I've indicated these drain lines as well. Hopefully the picture and my probable misuse of terms in this email all makes sense. (I'm a novice at this)

What everything boils down to is that when they built the house, I think they roughed in the trap riser for the tub about 3.5" off. Additionally it looks like they installed a steel support column in the wrong place as well.

Here's my plan, let me know if I've made a bad assumption or if you think things could be could be done better.

1) According to the plans provided by the builder for the optional finished basement, the wall to the left of the sink should be aligned with the steel support column and in my basement it's about 5" off. - No big deal, I can bump out the wall to meet the 15" lavatory code requirement.

2) When I align the back wall of the bathroom to be about 13" from center of the toilet drain line, the tub drain line is about 3.5" offset from where it needs to be. (From the picture you can see I have a scrap 2x4 between the back wall and the tub drain cap). I am fairly certain the tub drain was J-trapped underneath the concrete slab. - My plan here is to simply bump out the back wall by 3.5" to accommodate the tub drain and for aesthetic reasons add another 3.5" on the opposite end of the tub as well.

3) If I add 3.5" wall bump out for the tub, the steel support beam that is 60" from the back wall of the bathroom will also have to be boxed out as well. - Not exactly the most pleasing layout, but there's not much I can do about that steel support column.