Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jason_bowing Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Oct 26, 2011, 08:54 AM
    Electric bill went up three times
    Have a friend that his electric bill has went up greatly in the past year. Has went from paying 45$ to 250$ in the summer and went from 300$ to 600$ and at most 1200$ in the winter. I am a heating and cooling guy and plumber by trade and I checked his heating system and water heater and they were running just fine. For the life of me I am having a hard time figuring out what is causing this I first thought the meter was bad but the electric comp. Checked it and said it is OK and will not change it out. So I am trying to help the best I can and could you some advise for someone that has seen this or has had it happen to them. Thanks.
    tkrussell Posts: 9,659, Reputation: 725
    Uber Member

Oct 26, 2011, 01:22 PM
    These problems are difficult to solve over the internet.

Even on site is not easy. A load study with a recording meter may be needed to confirm that the power the utility meter is seeing is there. Then work on finding the circuit or circuits that is drawing the high power.

Looking for water heater or comfort heating elements running wild, electric heat in heat pumps on constantly, things of that nature.

Lights on 24/7.

Teenagers.

Changes in the home, more occupants.

Can be anything.

Rare cases have been found of next door neighbors stealing power.

No job for a DIY'er, and good service/troubleshooting electrician with the proper tools and instruments is needed.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Oct 26, 2011, 02:11 PM
    First does he first charges seem correct, 45 dollars seems like almost NO use. Unless he is not running a air conditioner and no lights at night, a almost empty house with just a few things on runs 45 dollars.

How many people in the house, what areas ?

Also has he turned everything in the house off, unplugged everything to see if they is still usage shown