Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    ExarKun Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Jul 31, 2008, 11:18 AM
    At Fault Accident, My Insurance Rates?
    Ok, so I was in my first accident ever. Ive only been driving for a year, so I'm a new driver. My record is clean, except for a few parking violations. So, last week I was driving my sisters car here in California, and ran over a rolled up rug on the road. It was dark at night and really had little time to react when I saw it. The outcome: pretty heavy damage to the vechile. It runs perfectly and drives straight, but a lot of parts are broken or bent out of shape. Anyway, it looks like repairs are going to be costly, maybe around $5000.
    The bad thing is my sister did not have insurance on her car, as it expired a week before the accident. Basically, my insurance is going to cover for it.
    So, my question is, is this likely to affect my insurance rates? I think that's a pretty obvious question, but what Im curious about is roughly how much would you think it would go up? Am I likely to see a huge increase?
    progunr Posts: 1,971, Reputation: 288
    Ultra Member

Jul 31, 2008, 11:22 AM
    Yes, if you are asking if the accident reported to your insurance will raise your rates.

Especially given your short time on the road, it could go up quite a bit, or could even be canceled.

Given the cost to repair a vehicle these days, even the smallest dent is over $1000.

Jul 31, 2008, 11:31 AM
    Yeah I know, its crazy. I mean, I think its just pure bad luck. I consider myself a good driver and don't drive recklessly. I mean it happened on a huge freeway and you don't expect to see any huge objects on your lane, let alone it happened during the night.