Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    brookstheump Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Jul 6, 2008, 08:47 AM
    Girlfriend wants a break.Should I worry?
    Hey everyone. I'm a newbie to this forum. My girlfriend and I have been going out for 3 and a half months. Yesterday, she told me that she wanted to take a break right now. She wants to take a break because she is busy with college, working, and also dealing with family situations. She tells me that is the reason she wants to take a break, and that it has nothing to do with me. We have a great relationship and love each other a lot. She told me that she wants us to still be officially boyfriend-girlfriend, and she also made a promise to me that once she is done with college, that we will start "serious" dating once again. I am going to support her decision 100%, and I trust her when she says we will date again. Should I be worried, or should I feel at ease about the fact she does want to resume dating when her situation isn't as bad? This is my first serious relationship and any advice would be great. Thank u.
    happy_jester Posts: 170, Reputation: 29

Jul 6, 2008, 09:08 AM
    I really don't need to say much here,as, you know yourself.

What I mean,is,that there is a lot of what you've said in your question that's very
    POSITIVE about this relationship...

... such as,you say that you have a great relationship & both love each other a lot.

She has told you that she wants you both to still be officially boyfriend-girlfriend, and she also made a promise to you that once she is done with college, that the "serious" dating can begin once again.

You have NO worries here,please relax :)
    liz28 Posts: 4,662, Reputation: 1034
    Ultra Member

Jul 6, 2008, 11:42 AM
    I would not get my hopes up too high because your can wind up getting back togethee or the break can be long lasting.