Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    my2sons8791 Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Jul 1, 2009, 07:59 PM
    Washing machine discharge overflowing
    Hello - my washing machine discharge water is overflowing from the box in the wall where the valves and discharge line is mounted. My plumbing lines run as follows: from the box in the wall, it goes down vertically about 15 inches, 90 degree elbow to the right , runs horizontally about 24 inches, 90 degree elbow down, runs about 18 inches down vertically to a 90 degree elbow into a trap, then another 90 degree elbow, then runs into the sump pump box (in basement). All of the drain lines in the wall are 1 1/2 PVC. If you slowly pour water down the drain, it's fine, but with the volume the washing machine puts out, the water backs up and overflows. Any help is GREATLY appreciated.
    Patski00 Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Jul 1, 2009, 09:55 PM

I'm no expert... just a simple single mom... but mine did the same thing.. first.. can you get rid of some of the elbows.. not sure if that's possible.. or if it will work..
    My problem was that it was not sealed tight enough... my solution... Lots and lots of duct tape... I pushed the hose from the washer down as far as I could... then Lots and Lots of duct tape... Hope that works... Good Luck... p.s... did I mention I'm not an expert...
    Milo Dolezal Posts: 7,192, Reputation: 523
    Plumbing Expert

Jul 2, 2009, 07:55 AM

Your stand pipe should go straight up. You have too many 90's preventing water from discharging as it should. Was that always happening or did it just started ?

You will probably have to snake your drain. Hope you have a clean out close by.

Jul 2, 2009, 08:02 AM

I just installed this so it is new. What is the stand pipe - sorry for my elementary questions! I also do not have a vent except for the small little vent on the pump/tank cover.
    ballengerb1 Posts: 27,378, Reputation: 2280
    Home Repair & Remodeling Expert

Jul 2, 2009, 08:58 AM