Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    PaintingMom Posts: 15, Reputation: 1

Jan 1, 2008, 07:32 PM
    Inexpensive Kitchen Update/ Remodel
    I've been watching too much HDTV. A general question about kitchen remodels. I don't have the budget to gut my kitchen, but this year I would like to add value to the room. How much in return to you get from an update versus a remodel. As in my previous post, I will more than likely have to buy a new dishwasher appliance in 6 months, but the oven and refrigerator are newer appliances. What I'm thinking of doing is ripping out the corian countertops and replacing with granite, then painting the cabinets and adding new pull knobs.

Since I'm new at this, what would the job of demo'ing the old corian and replacing the granite top be? My kitchen has an island and then one standard countertop area so it's not very large. It just seems like too , that all the big kitchen remodeling companies will only do the really big $75000 jobs. Am I better off getting a handyman to do such a small job? I would be doing my own painting and it's really just the granite that I would need professionally done.

Would this new countertop alone bring huge value to my home or are realtors finding that the return is relatively small for just hear and there updates? :)
    ballengerb1 Posts: 27,378, Reputation: 2280
    Home Repair & Remodeling Expert

Jan 6, 2008, 07:53 PM
    Your handuman is not likely going to be a good granite installer. Get a few estimates from local pros, many will do small jobs and not stick it to you. You could also consider just cabinet refacing over painting or just new doors. Granite does add valve to your home but it isn't going to add $10K to your home if the granite job was only $2K, you'll get your money out of it but not make a huge profit.
    glavine Posts: 895, Reputation: 87

Jan 10, 2008, 07:38 PM