Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    bekah876 Posts: 445, Reputation: 38

Jun 8, 2007, 09:20 AM
    Getting ready for pregnancy
    My husband and I are beginning to think about when we might want to start trying for our first baby. Since I am new at the motherhood and pregnancy thing I am unsure of what I need to do to get my body ready. Any advice to what I need to do, what vitamins I should be taking, where to get those vitamins, special foods to eat, anything you can think of would be helpful. Thanks!
    alkalineangel Posts: 2,391, Reputation: 323
    Ultra Member

Jun 8, 2007, 09:24 AM
    Get on prenatal vitamins. You can get them over the counter at any drugstore. Plenty of folic acid and omega 3 fatty acids as well, they have ben proven to promote brain development in your baby as well as eyesight development..
    whiteladybug2002 Posts: 235, Reputation: 36

Jun 8, 2007, 09:26 AM
    You should start taking prenatal vitamins now. You can get them at your local pharmacy. Plus, you need folic acid to prevent birth defects, so drink orange juice and there are some foods that are rich in folic acid too. I can't think now which foods, but I am sure you can look it up online.

Good Luck and God Loves You!
    saraispiel19 Posts: 670, Reputation: 115
    -

Jun 8, 2007, 09:57 AM
    αnytime - even before you're thinking αbout getting pregnαnt. You cαn tαlk αbout your diet, hαbits, lifestyle αnd αny concerns you hαve. Plαn on visiting your doctor within α yeαr before you wαnt to get pregnαnt. αt thαt time, you mαy be given α physicαl check-up. You αnd the fαther-to-be will probαbly be αsked αbout your medicαl history. You'll both αlso hαve the chαnce to αsk your doctor questions. You mαy wαnt to be screened for rubellα αnd HIV or need other blood tests too.