Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    captainclutch23 Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Jun 1, 2007, 07:04 PM
    Best friend who doesn't act like it
    I have a best friend who has about 20 other friends. I'm new to the school, so I don't know those people as well as she does. It seems like she never wants to be around me, but when I confront her she just tells me that she's sorry, but she makes no attempt to change. She never invites me to sit with her for lunch, in class, etc. or be her partner in anything. When it's just me and her. Everything's OK. But when her other friends come into the scene, she doesn't want to be around me anymore. When I ask if she wants to hang most of the time she's busy. But when we are hanging out, one of her other friends calls and asks her to hang out and she leaves me to go with them. Should I be friends with her? How do I confront her in a way that she'll actually change, not just cry and apologize and move on?
    templelane Posts: 1,177, Reputation: 227
    Ultra Member

Jun 2, 2007, 09:37 AM
    Hi it's tough starting a new school when everybody already has their friendship groups sorted. Breaking in can be a real challenge - people are lazy and can't be bothered to involve you. I know- been there, done that loads of times.

What you should do is stay friends with this girl but don't rely on her to be you best friend, start talking to her friends, get involved with them. That way you could find other friends, also it will increase your chances of being invited places.

Parents allowing perhaps you could have a small party and invite people in your classes, that way you could get talking to new people and if they have any parties perhaps they'll invite you.

Did you know this girl form before you moved schools? Is this why she is your best friend? Or was she the first person you met?