Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    traka Posts: 50, Reputation: 1

May 11, 2005, 08:10 AM
    Which version of BASIC
    I have a program developed for me, based from XL for it's repetitious formulae functions when macro's are no longer practical. In other words, where XL can no longer be a pratical option, the same work is made into a program.

I am no programmer, but the layman's "blueprint" was presented to a programmer, he made the program and uses some form of "user friendly" BASIC for scripting, I believe it's is termed sub routine.
    I am not sure.
    But there is now no support from this programmer due to personal life changes.
    The program works fine, there is no problem, but it's potential is now limited due to the fact there is no support to the BASIC language script coding.

I have searched for similarities, such as REALbasic, PowerBasic and many other forms of "BASIC", but each of these forums only recognise the BASIC they are associated with.

How then can I tell which BASIC is being used in my program for the sub routines, so I can move to there and tap into the existing potential with my bookeeping program ?

Keep in mind, there is no support whatsoever from the programmer, but he did say during devlopment that the BASIC he has chosen for the scripts is learnable.

I can post some of the code here, in case anyone here can recognise what it is.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

May 11, 2005, 01:13 PM
    BASIC is BASIC. It's a standard language. There are two things that make for different basic dialects; the intepreter and the dialect itself.

BASIC is an interpreted language that reads each line of code and acts on ot. The tool that reads this is the BASIC interpreter. A standard interpreter used to come with DOS. I don't know if that is true with Windows, I don't think so.