Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jebleu Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Apr 23, 2005, 08:22 AM
    Folder and file encryption on server
    As a consulting manager I have to manage teams of 20 or more people. As we work on the client site, we only have access to the servers of the client.

We create folders on the servers client to keep all of our documentation and be able to share it within the team.
    In this documentation, some of the files are only for the team.

I am looking for a tool (product or software) or a way to encrypt these files and folders and only allow people of the team to read or update these files (like a encrypted vault) with :
    - administrator of the server not be able to access the content of the folders and files.
    - not preventing the server procedures of the client to be working (i.e. backup procedures).
    - forcing the team to do encrypt and decrypt each time they access a file (encryption on the fly).
    - allow multiuser access on the encrypted folder (vault). This imply that the folder can not be locked because of one person consulting it.

Any suggestion of a product or any other solution to realise this.

Thank you
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Apr 23, 2005, 08:33 PM
    Frankly, if anyone, consultant or otherwise, try to create a folder on my network that was totally blocked, they wouldn't be a consultant for very long. The network admins NEED access to every folder.

That being said, if you can convince the network people of your needs, then they should be able to create a folder that prevents access to anyone but your team and that includes the domain admins group.

Another option would be to use password protected Zip files.
    Curlyben Posts: 18,514, Reputation: 1860
    BossMan

Apr 25, 2005, 03:23 PM