Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jdutle Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Dec 9, 2015, 02:31 PM
    Excel Macro Hyperlink Not Working
    I am very new to marcos and am having trouble.

As part of a macro I was working on, I wanted to open the hyperlink of a selected cell (contains link to another workbook.)

When I run the macro it gives me the usual warning to make sure the link is from a trustworthy source, and asks if Id like to open the file. I click ok, then the hourglass comes up for a few seconds and then it goes away. Nothing happens though, the file does not open.

But, If I click the actual cell that contains the hyperlink, it gives me the warning, I click ok, and then the file opens. Its frustrating that it worked before I saved and closed it.

If I have it link to a word document, then the Macro will work. Or if I open a second Excel session and run the macro, then it will open the linked workbook, but in the first excel session if that makes sense.

I created the code using the Macro Recorder. While recording, when I click on the cell with the hyperlink it will open, but not after Ive finished and tried to run the macro. Please help.

Sub Macro1()
    '
    ' Macro1 Macro
    Range("B7").Select
    Selection.Hyperlinks(1).Follow NewWindow:=False, AddHistory:=True
    End Sub
    JBeaucaire Posts: 5,426, Reputation: 997
    Software Expert

Dec 11, 2015, 06:17 PM
    Perhaps you'll have more luck with this method:

Code:
    ThisWorkbook.FollowHyperlink (ThisWorkbook.Sheets("Sheet1").Range("B7").Value)
    This presumes the value in B7 is actually a text string representation of the file's location. Something like: C:\MyDocuments\MyExcelFile.xls

If that is not the case and the Hyperlink is hidden in the cell's formatting (CTRL+K hyperlink) then maybe this:

Code:
    ThisWorkbook.FollowHyperlink (ThisWorkbook.Sheets("Sheet1").Range("B7").Hyperlinks(1).Address)

Dec 15, 2015, 03:29 PM