Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    shaktimaan Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Sep 13, 2014, 03:57 PM
    Breaking lease
    I am new to US and need help.
    Is it fine to leave the rental house before the rental period expires even if I have given one month notice. I am not okay with landlord keeping one month security but don't seem to have an option.

Here is my situation:
    I rented an apartment for 6 months lease, ending January 2015. I signed the lease before getting my first pay. When I got my first pay it was 400-500 $ short of what I expected because of some taxes I was not aware of. I am new to US and working here for the first time. I researched the internet to find what my taxes should be, but the real taxes turned out to be different. I know it's not my landlord's fault that this happened. As a foreigner I had no place to stay and I had to rent before getting my first salary with the savings I had brought from my home country. As soon as I became aware of my financial situation, I verbally requested my landlord that I will be vacating my place after a month. He has accepted to place advertisement for the place again and wants me to continue paying the rent until someone else rents it. I have too pitched in and placed the ad on a couple of popular rental websites and also where I work, of course with the landlord's permission. Now, I have found a place that I can afford and want to leave after a month.

1. Is a month's notice not enough to move out. He says I am bound by law to pay till the lease expires or he finds somebody else. Am I legally bound to continue paying even if I don't live there?

2. Provided that I leave on time next month, do I need to pay next months rent now, though he has my security?

3. Does my right on full/part of security change whether he finds someone or not?
    Please reply.

4. Can he sue me if I leave and he has the rent for the duration I stayed + security?
    AK lawyer Posts: 12,592, Reputation: 977
    Expert