Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    EMPTYFIRST Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Feb 5, 2014, 06:52 PM
    Healthcare Ethic Question
    I'm a student needing some help in getting started with my assignment. By the way the assignment is due 2/7/2014. This part of online course where the professors are generally unhelpful. I have to 1) Identify and explain risks of not providing care. 2) Identify alternative courses of action and explain expected consequences. 3) Recommend one course of action, giving rationale. In the following scenario provided below.

If any one can give me any thoughts on how to go about researching topics for the scenario I would really appreciate it.

A man has suffered a traumatic brain injury in a major automobile accident. An ambulance has brought him to a hospital where he is admitted to the intensive care unit. The hospital learns that the man is from Mexico and contacts his family, but family members are uncooperative. The hospital is able to stabilize the patient, but he has permanent brain damage and needs 24-hour care.
    The hospital is a part of a major healthcare system that owns nursing homes. However, the patient is not a U.S. citizen and does not have health insurance. The healthcare system is concerned that it will not be reimbursed for the services it has to provide this patient for the rest of his life.
    Imagine you are on the ethics committee of the healthcare system. How should the ethics committee advise the healthcare system on the provision of care for this patient? Explain the rationale for your decision. What risks are involved if the healthcare system fails to provide care?
    Tuttyd Posts: 53, Reputation: 4

Feb 5, 2014, 08:09 PM
    In terms of ethical theory this would come under,applied ethics. More specifically, clinical ethics. I would imagine that in such circumstances and ethical committee would look at the problem in terms of current policy, practice and the legal situation.