Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    inngyn Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 14, 2014, 01:38 PM
    Disease
    Hi I'm a medical student and today I watched PM examination .time since death was about 40 hours and body was kept in mortuary before examination. I was close to body and noticed some tissue or fluid were coming out of body to nearby me. I'm afraid they entered my eye because I felt as if there was something in my eye. As HIV can survive whe and frozen' Can I acquire diseases by that event. What can happen to me?
    CravenMorhead Posts: 4,532, Reputation: 1065
    Adult Sexuality Expert

Jan 14, 2014, 01:47 PM
    If you're asking this question, maybe medicine isn't your calling. The tissue and fluids you saw were probably benign. While corpses are a known vector for all sorts of diseases, I can assure you that these probably weren't infectious and they were just dead. Anything you saw or experienced was just natural decay or your own body. It is more likely that you got an eyelash or hair or some such particle in your eye than anything from the cadaver.

You're fine.
    smearcase Posts: 2,392, Reputation: 316
    Ultra Member

Jan 14, 2014, 06:26 PM
    I am hard pressed to believe that medical students are placed in situations with no protocol for safety glasses and other protection appropriate to the situation.
    You have the access to the experts. You won't like what the alleged expert in the below link has to say.
    If there is any doubt in your mind, either get tested or worry about it for x number of years.

This is one opinion and I am sure there are many others:
    From How long HIV virus survive in a Dead Human body - Forum on Safe Sex and HIV Prevention -- TheBody.com