Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    shanny90 Posts: 10, Reputation: 1

Oct 16, 2013, 02:50 AM
    Has the sperm already made its way to the egg by the time the gest.sac begans to form
    Hi I'm new to this and very confused. I was wondering how soon after intercourse does the gestational sac first begin to form?
    joypulv Posts: 21,591, Reputation: 2941
    current pert

Oct 16, 2013, 03:03 AM
    The egg (follicle) is working it's way down the fallopian tube when many sperm run into it and try to break through it. If one succeeds, the outer layer of the egg instantly changes to an impermeable state and no other sperm can get through. The sperm have a maximum life of about 3 days inside the woman's body, although fertilization (conception) generally happens sooner than that (fresh sperm actually can't impregnate until they have undergone some changes over several hours). The fertilized egg starts growing within 24 to 36 hours and continues on down to the uterus (hopefully - if not, an ectopic pregnancy occurs) where it attaches to the uterine wall. That's when the gestational sac forms. This is all just a matter of a few days to a week. Each step has variations, so there is no exact time schedule.

The sac won't be seen on ultrasound that early, however, so if you are wondering when you conceived, this is not the information you need. Answer below if you want to know that.

Oct 16, 2013, 07:15 PM