Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    tsila1777 Posts: 138, Reputation: 18

Jun 14, 2013, 09:38 PM
    Bing vs Google
    I totally hate Bing search, I have Google as my default, but every time I search, it switches to Bing. How can I get rid of Bing or keep it from taking over my laptop?
    depressed_one Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Jun 14, 2013, 11:09 PM
    What web browser are you on?

Jun 15, 2013, 04:05 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by johnreiner View Post
    1.Download and Install Google Chrome(the best web browser) in your laptop.
    2.Go to Settings, In Search Category select Google as your default search engine and also select your default browser as Google Chrome
    3.Save the changes and you can use Google for every search you intend to do.

Thank you, I already had Google Chrome, and I did as you said and it worked. Thanks so much! Also, I am new to laptops, and this one is also windows 8. I go back and forth from this to my other computer which is XP. It gets confusing sometimes But at least I don't have to deal with Bing anymore. I do use other browsers at times. Will this work for Foxfire if I put Google as default? Another question, (I need lots of help) Java, and flash player, it keeps telling me I need this, but when I try to download it, my antivirus warms me. Is there a safe place to download these?

Jun 18, 2013, 08:40 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by johnreiner View Post
    Yeah, you can set Google as the default search engine in any browser you want. Java and flash are not virus. So, you can avoid the warning from your anti-virus and download it. Be sure you are downloading it from their official websites (i.e,) java.com and adobe.com
    I get a pop-up window that tells me I need to upgrade, or download these, maybe that is why antivirus catches them. Thanks for telling me the official sites. I will check those out and see if I do need to do anything.
    puebloan Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Jun 20, 2013, 09:28 AM