Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    maddie04 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Mar 22, 2007, 01:48 PM
    Teacher hurt in classroom
    I am a Third Grade teacher in Pennsylvania, while I was walking the halls monitoring classrooms during an inside recess, I heard students in my classroom yelling. I ran to my room and found 3 of my students trying to hold up a large dry erase white board (4 ft by 6 ft) that was coming off the wall on one end. I got everyone out of the way and as I turned to inspect the board the entire thing came off the wall hitting me in the head. I immediately reported it to the office and nurse. I was sent to the hospital for x-rays. I have compressed vertebrae and muscle spasms in my neck. I was told that in order to qualify for workmens comp. I must first use 7 of my own sick/personal days before it could start. Is this true in all work settings or just my school dist. The dr. is not sure how soon I will be able to return. I have only just recently returned to work after taking time off for maternity leave. I have only 5 sick/personal days left.

I also found out after the incident that the custodian was aware of the problem with the whiteboard being loose on one end and assured the substitute that he would fix it. I have witnesses who heard him being told of the problem and saying he would take care of it. He now denies any knowledge of the problem.

Can I demand that the district not take my time away from me since this in no way was my fault? Even though the injury was not more severe should I get a lawyer and sue the district for negligence?

I'm really confused as to which way to turn.

Thanks for any help
    Squiffy Posts: 499, Reputation: 84

Mar 22, 2007, 02:03 PM
    I would definatelty consult a lawyer on this one. If they expect you to use some of your own personal days they are taking those away from you because of an injury caused by their negligence. They should be glad a child wasn't killed.