Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    ConfusedCowgirl Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Apr 10, 2013, 04:17 PM
    Mental illness not flushing toilet
    My 71 year old aunt started not flushing the toilet two years ago. She seems to not care about her surroundings and starts multiple projects without finishing them. She is angry one minute then a little while later happy and pleasant. What is happening? I am very concerned...
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Apr 10, 2013, 04:28 PM
    Does she live with you? Has a family member taken her to a doctor or gone with her to a doctor and asked about this?
    Comeandgetme12 Posts: 99, Reputation: -5

Apr 10, 2013, 07:00 PM
    Sounds to me like she is just getting old and forgetful, however it could be more extreme. You should take her to the doctor because she could have an illness like Alzheimers disease or maybe even dementia which both could be serious, but I am no doctor. Some people act differently and more forgetful after strokes. But since you said this has been going on for 2 years that is probably not the issue or the only issue. I hope helped you, but PLEASE take this little old lady to the doctor.
    Zea Posts: 217, Reputation: 19

Apr 10, 2013, 07:58 PM
    Hey, there.

Okay, there are thousands of possibilities; here is what I think:

Maybe, your aunt cares to flush the toilet, but forgets.

Changes in mood, forgetting, and if she finds it hard to complete daily tasks or projects- these are all indications of Alzheimer's disease.

Most importantly, is your aunt forgetful? If yes, than it might be Alzheimer.

I am not a doctor. But I highly encourage your aunt to see one.

Good luck.
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Apr 10, 2013, 09:22 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by Zea View Post
    Changes in mood, forgetting, and if she finds it hard to complete daily tasks or projects- these are all indications of Alzheimer’s disease.