Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    battyboy12 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 21, 2013, 07:43 AM
    Is my probability theory of Ancestors valid in any way?
    I am an anthropology student from Michigan. I am currently researching the inter-relatedness of most, if not all, humans alive today. Anyway, I have a personal interest in mathematics, statistics and probability theory and have incorporated it into my studies. I am not looking for answers from an anthropological or historic perspective, I'm just looking for answers from a mathematical/statistical one. Any information if my theory is in any way "valid" is what I am seeking.

Before I elaborate my theory, here is some background information:

According to the Law of Truly Large Numbers... "that with a sample size large enough, any outrageous thing is likely to happen.In a sample of 1000 independent trials, the probability that the event does not happen in any of them is

, or 36.8%. The probability that the event happens at least once in 1000 trials is then 1 − 0.368 = 0.632 or 63.2%. The probability that it happens at least once in 10,000 trials is

This means that this "unlikely event" has a probability of 63.2% of happening if 1000 chances are given, or over 99.9% for 10,000 chances. In other words, a highly unlikely event, given enough tries, is even more unlikely to not occur."

That was the Law of Truly Large Numbers. What I have below is from a computer scientist:

If there were random intermixing, then we would each have ~1 million ancestors living in 1500 AD, out of a world population of ~500 million.
    So the fractional overlap between two people would be about 1/500th.