Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    JARIXA Posts: 95, Reputation: 3

Feb 10, 2013, 01:37 PM
    What is wrong with my laptop??
    My laptop has been slowing down for the last couple of days. Then yesterday I turned it on and it went to a gray screen. But today I try turning it on and the screen is completely black!! :( What happened? What should I do? Did I BREAK it?! :(:(:(:(
    smearcase Posts: 2,392, Reputation: 316
    Ultra Member

Feb 10, 2013, 06:25 PM
    Have you ruled out battery and/or charger problems?

Feb 11, 2013, 05:43 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by smearcase View Post
    Have you ruled out battery and/or charger problems?
    My charger works but the screen is black:(
    Ultra Member

Feb 11, 2013, 01:51 PM
    I don't really know very much about actual computer operations. But I have some experience with the power issue.
    Do you have any indication that there is power on in the laptop, such as indicator lights lit etc? How are you able to determine if the charger is working as I am assuming you have no way to check battery charge level or have any kind of indication that it is charging? You are not assuming that power is OK because it was charging just before the problem or because battery level was OK just before it the problem arose- correct? Batteries and chargers can fail instantly without any warning- That's all I am trying to say here.
    My laptop went into a black screen a few months ago and the problem turned out to be a bad charger. I realized that the charger was most likely bad because it had been plugged in for a considerable time before it went black although it still could have been battery failure.
    Tell us how you know it is not the battery or charger being the problem and maybe one of the computer experts will come on here with some other advice.

Feb 11, 2013, 01:59 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by smearcase View Post