Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Stratmando's Avatar
    Stratmando Posts: 11,188, Reputation: 508
    Uber Member
     
    #1

    Aug 30, 2012, 06:52 AM
    Telco Companies Not Qualified to Install Security Systems
    I've mentioned in the Past the Big Telco Companies Destroying Security Systems by lack of Experience/Qualification, Massachusetts has done something about it. They blame their customers as they say the Customer does the actual Installation, NOT Them?:

    Massachusetts installers battle Comcast, Verizon in court | Security Systems News
    smoothy's Avatar
    smoothy Posts: 25,495, Reputation: 2853
    Uber Member
     
    #2

    Aug 30, 2012, 07:22 AM
    Sounds like sour grapes to me...

    Doesn't Radio Shack and a number of other places sell do-it-yourself kits as well? YOu can gather up the stuff at Home Depot and Lowe's as well, the only differnce is you have to contract out monitoring to someone else are just not have monitoring at all.
    Stratmando's Avatar
    Stratmando Posts: 11,188, Reputation: 508
    Uber Member
     
    #3

    Aug 26, 2013, 05:37 AM
    Smoothy, From the customers in Mass, sure sounds like it.
    People can also go online, buy, learn and install themselves.
    These systems are Widely different that if Installed By an Experienced Security/Electrical Contractor.
    I would bet they are not recognized to allow a reduction in Insurance?
    smoothy's Avatar
    smoothy Posts: 25,495, Reputation: 2853
    Uber Member
     
    #4

    Aug 26, 2013, 06:24 AM
    Probibly wouldn't... and nobody (in their right mind) would consider a "security" system of a cluster of wireless battery powered sensors to be anything on par with something you might see at Military facilities or Banking institutions.

    Another case of you get what you pay for. ( though admittedly as technology advances you really do get a LOT more for your money than you used to).

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

 

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.


Check out some similar questions!

What certification do you need in Texas to install septic systems? [ 4 Answers ]

What are the certifications needed to install septic systems in Texas?

Security systems and alarms [ 4 Answers ]

How much would it cost to have security systems and alarms put in your home?

Security systems [ 1 Answers ]

Can C be used for programming security systems

Security systems [ 1 Answers ]

How to use JAVA for programming security systems


View more questions Search