Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    pvw Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jun 19, 2012, 04:37 PM
    Tax rate for OPT student in California
    Hello,

I am a Contractor working in California and want to know how much my tax rate should be, since I am on OPT. How much federal tax (%) and State Income Tax (%) should I pay monthly if I earn about $30/hr considering 40hrs/week.
    Please provide breakdown if possible.

Thanks,
    Whabi
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Jun 20, 2012, 07:49 AM
    Whabi:

You have no self-employment tax requirement, so your $60K+ annual salary will result in an annual FEDERAL tax bill of about $9,150.

Your California tax bill will be about $4,500, so you need to have $13,700 in the bank next January to pay your tax bill.

This assumes NO deductible expenses on the Schedule C you will have to file with the Form 1040NR.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

California tax on OPT [ 12 Answers ]

Hello, I am in the US from Jan 2007 (was on F1 visa) and graduated this Spring (May) 2009 and currently on OPT visa. I will start to work for a small firm in N. California from July 2009 and want to know the tax cuts. I am not sure if its going to help but I moved from Dallas, TX. Lets...

Indian student on OPT in California [ 5 Answers ]

Hi I'm an Indian student on OPT. My pay is 75,000 per year. I'm single. This is the pay slip for 2 weeks. Gross pay: 3,125.00 Standard Deductions: ----------------------------------------- Federal Income: -514.27 Social Security: -131.25 Medicare: ...

I am OPT Student (Indian) who works in California. I would like to know my returns [ 5 Answers ]