Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mithun_s Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

May 3, 2012, 11:44 PM
    F1 student for "student contract" position in Federal Government Agency
    Hi Friends,

I am an international F1 student (Indian) and got six months "student research contract" position in an agency of the federal government of the United States. What my employers need is to register in Central Contractor Registry(CCR) as sole-proprietor and proceed to obtain the DUNS number.

As far as I understand, we F1 students are not allowed to take up any contract job to maintain legal F1 status. Is that right?

This research job I am going to do is going extactly to be my thesis.

I contacted my International Student Advisor with all the documents I received from my employer and according to the Intrenational student advisor, It is a wonderful offer and I will not have any problem in accepting the offer.

So I accepted the offer and got my DUNS # too. I got my new I-20 which states that I can work on this contract position 40 hours during summer.

Under these situations, Am I really eligible to work. If so, how can I pay my taxes as my employer does not provide a W2 form.

I appreciate any help/suggestions/directions on this matter as I am overly concerned about maintaining a lawful F1 status while getting my PhD degree.

Thank you all in advance
    Mithu

Check out some similar questions!

Collector's Guild LTD, NY- "original etching" "Pour Roby" Picasso "Star Scene" J Moro [ 0 Answers ]

Both pictures have stickers on the back stating with a "certification seal" that the Picasso is a original etching and the Joan Miro is a lithograph. Moro looks real to me but I can't take the frames off to feel if the paint is real or maybe I don't know what a lithograph should feel like just a...

"Form" placed in "Microsoft Access" can be accessed from a "Button" in "VB.Net" App [ 1 Answers ]