Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mommy67812 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Sep 10, 2011, 03:04 PM
    Dwarf hamsters
    I'm not sure what "type" of dwarf hamsters we have... we purchased 2 from the pet store, out of the same cage. Upon birngin them home, I noticed (what now I know is the male), laying ontop of the female (she is on her back, mouth open, squeeling) and all the male is appearing to do is sitting there? Afterwards, both are cleaning their private parts. Watching them for a little while, I figured out they would smell and rub against each other just before this would occur... are they mating or are they fighting? I'm new to all this hamster thing... The pet store couldn't tell if they were male or female, but after reasearching I have determined one male and one female.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Sep 10, 2011, 03:46 PM
    I am not sure what type of pet store you got them from, in the US, all of the major chains work hard at not having them mixed together. In fact some of the chain stores do not have them of the same sex even in the same store.

Here is mating info about them.

Breeding hamsters - how to breed hamsters

How do I know when my female hamster is ready to breed i.e. in season?