Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    psimetis Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Jan 29, 2007, 01:56 AM
    Replacing broken toilet supply line?
    Hi! I'm an amateur DIYer and successfully fixed one of my leaking toilets. Unfortunately the other one required a new flush and fill valve, and even more unfortunately, after rebolting the tank back in and taking the flexible supply line in hand, it snapped off at the shut off valve! I've looked at the online how-to's that mention a nut I can loosen to take the broken end off, but it looks like the valve and the flexible line are one piece :confused: I will try to upload a close up pic, attached below!
    (here is the pic address as well: http://www.a-girlstudio.com/images/i...supplyline.jpg)
    I tried to twist the broken end with a wrench and only managed to squeeze it. I don't want to try twisting the valve connections without further advice. This is a condo unit, built around the late 70's I think. If I have to go downstairs and attempt to turn off all the water to the building while everyone is asleep--and then turn it back on--I'm willing to try it. Any suggestions? And thanks in advance for the time and help!
    Best,
    ~elizabeth
    Attached Images

iamgrowler Posts: 1,421, Reputation: 110
    Ultra Member

Jan 29, 2007, 08:20 PM
    Yikes!!

You're going to have to shut the water down and replace the angle stop.

You aren't going to want to hear this -- But hire a licensed and bonded Plumber to do the work.

Should things go points up, at least you will have the Plumbers bond to cover your butt.

I generally shy away from working on condo's -- Some busybody in the building is bound to take umbrage with the water shutoff (most municipalities require a minimum of 24 hours written notice, delivered to all affected tenants, before a building service can be shut down)