Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mogrann Posts: 860, Reputation: 193
    Dogs Expert

Apr 21, 2011, 03:26 PM
    Owen hurt himself
    I need to vent as I am sitting here crying. Owen had fallen while playing on the 19th. He seemed fine then but when I got home from work at 3am on the 20th he had a bad limp in the back leg. I remembered what Alty?(think it was you) told me what to do when Owen had the front paw limp. So I checked him over for signs of pain, and he did not react to me touching and moving his paw. So he went on rest, no stairs no walks etc. I also talked to Binx for advice.

Today it worsened and he would not even come to greet me. He just stayed in his kennel. So off to the vet we go.

She checked his leg and explained what she found. She offered X-Rays but what she found made sense and I thought the diagnosis was all right. I am not a doctor so I may have my explanation wrong. The back leg has tendons that join together the two bones to stabilize them. Owens is partially torn she could tell this as when moving the two bones she could feel a movement. There is a 50% risk of it going to the other leg due to him favoring the sore one. We also have to be cautious due to a full tear of it.

I am so scared as if it worsens the full tear is very expensive and I really can't afford it. I have talked with hubby and it will probably involve us having to rehome him so he can have the surgery. Starts crying more.

Please don't think I am heartless. I would sell everything I have to get it but I was told very very expensive. I am hoping the vets plan for recovery works. I am being sued in small claims court by one business and am just getting back to work from issues with my mental health.

Please please please pray that Owen recovers and it does not go to a full tear. I am so anxious, panic stricken right now. I love my boy but I WILL NOT let him suffer due to me not having money.

Okay for all you knowledgeable people here is the vet report: