Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    neo75 Posts: 7, Reputation: 1

Jan 23, 2007, 08:18 PM
    Tourist Visa ITIN/Dependent
    Hi I am a resident alien living in US from the past 7 years.
    Filing Status: married & filing jointly with one kid.

My Mother-in-law (from India) came to US on tourist visa (B2) in 2006 and lived with us for 7 months (210 days). She is not a US Citizen and as such does not have an SSN. She is from India and has no income in India.

Can I claim her as dependent on my tax returns?
    Does she meet the Substantial presence test?
    Can I file a W7 along with my tax returns to get an ITIN for her? If Yes which category?

Thanks for the help.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Jan 23, 2007, 10:20 PM
    Based on what you have told me, yes, you should be able to claim her as a dependent. She does not NEED to the Substantial Presence Test.

Yes, submit the W-7 for the ITIN, along with a notarized photocopy of her passport. Select category "d".

Jan 24, 2007, 09:49 AM
    Thanks for the quick response.

Forgot to mention:
    1. my Mother-in-law's husband works in India and I guess he files a joint return there.
    2. When is the "Substantial Presence" Test not required?
    3. When I submit a notarized copy of her Passport should it have the details of when she entered and left + I94? ( I will not have her I-94 as it will be taken during departure)

Thanks for your help
    Senior Tax Expert

Jan 24, 2007, 11:41 AM
    1) If he claims your mother-in-law on a joint return, then you CANNOT claim her.

2) It is NOT required because the dependency rules for parents are exceptionally loose. Basically, if you provide more than half of her suppor, if she is resident in the U.S. for ANY part of 2006, she has little or no income, AND no one else claims her (which probably derails your claiming her as noted in #1), then you can claim her.