Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    abm2011 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Mar 12, 2011, 10:12 AM
    Permanent Residency
    I am a student in the US and plan to graduate in May 2012. I want to do a Optional Practical training after I graduate for about a year. I am on the student visa that will expire in 2012 June. Can I apply for a green card during my Optional Practical training? I am a Zimbabwean citizen and I wanted to know if this will affect my eligibility. How long will it take to process the green card? I have no relatives here, am I eligible to apply for myself or do I need to find an employer that wants to sponsor me to get a green card?

Your responses will be valuable for me to make my decision
    NYcityboy Posts: 785, Reputation: 65

Mar 12, 2011, 11:15 AM

You need to find a basis for permanent residence. Generally will need a US business to petition for you. Long process as an EB-3. faster if you have a USC qualifying relative for FB PR.
    one_4_adventure Posts: 17, Reputation: 2

Mar 12, 2011, 01:52 PM
    I went to school in the US (I'm Canadian) and from what I recall I had the option of extending my student visa for up to 1 year to gain work related exp. In my field... Sorry no details other then that, but worth looking into...

P
    one_4_adventure Posts: 17, Reputation: 2

Mar 12, 2011, 01:55 PM
    I went to school in the US (I'm Canadian) and from what I recall I had the option of extending my student visa for up to 1 year to gain work related exp. In my field... Sorry not related to permanent residency, but worth looking into...

P
    NYcityboy Posts: 785, Reputation: 65

Mar 12, 2011, 03:32 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by one_4_adventure View Post
    I went to school in the US (I'm Canadian) and from what I recall I had the option of extending my student visa for up to 1 year to gain work related exp. in my field... Sorry not related to permanent residency, but worth looking into...

P