Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    this8384's Avatar
    this8384 Posts: 4,564, Reputation: 485
    Ultra Member
     
    #1

    Jan 20, 2011, 08:00 AM
    Conflict with Internet Explorer
    Certain webpages tell me that they're not compatible with Internet Explorer 6 and that I should upgrade. But when I visit Microsoft, it tells me I'm already running Internet Explorer 8 and don't need to upgrade.

    Is there something I can do about this? Why are certain webpages not recognizing my browser version but others are?

    I used to use Mozilla Firefox but was having problems with pictures and graphics loading; once I switched to IE, they showed up with no problem. Should I just switch back?
    Curlyben's Avatar
    Curlyben Posts: 18,505, Reputation: 1860
    BossMan
     
    #2

    Jan 20, 2011, 08:02 AM
    Hmmm interesting.

    You have a couple of options, both of which I would try.
    1/ make sure you have all available patches installed
    2/ Try these sites with Firefox, assuming you still have it installed
    OR
    3/ Grab Google Chrome instead.
    this8384's Avatar
    this8384 Posts: 4,564, Reputation: 485
    Ultra Member
     
    #3

    Jan 20, 2011, 08:04 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by Curlyben View Post
    Hmmm interesting.

    You have a couple of options, both of which I would try.
    1/ make sure you have all available patches installed
    2/ Try these sites with Firefox, assuming you still have it installed
    OR
    3/ Grab Google Chrome instead.
    I heard bad things about Google Chrome... viruses, conflicts, etc. Makes me nervous... :)

    I'll see if there are any patches available.
    Curlyben's Avatar
    Curlyben Posts: 18,505, Reputation: 1860
    BossMan
     
    #4

    Jan 20, 2011, 08:05 AM
    Chrome, and FF, are massively more secure than IE.
    So no worries there, unless you are doing nefarious stuffs ;)
    ITstudent2006's Avatar
    ITstudent2006 Posts: 2,243, Reputation: 329
    Networking Expert
     
    #5

    Jan 20, 2011, 12:28 PM

    What's funny is at work we have IE6. WE are being directed (by Microsoft and carriers) to go to IE8. We distributed the IE8 install on a single client to test and it installed IE8 but under About Internet Explorer it was still listed as IE6, and we were still receiving the update to IE8 messages!

    So needless to say I experienced this same thing yesterday.

    What did I do? I reinstalled IE8. When you reinstall IE8 it will remove previous versions and install version 8. Something could have went bad in the install... I say try again!

    NOTE: Was the IE8 .exe from Microsoft?
    NOTE2: I have no complaints about Chrome. I absolutely love it!
    this8384's Avatar
    this8384 Posts: 4,564, Reputation: 485
    Ultra Member
     
    #6

    Jan 20, 2011, 01:22 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by ITstudent2006 View Post
    Whats funny is at work we have IE6. WE are being directed (by Microsoft and carriers) to go to IE8. We distributed the IE8 install on a single client to test and it installed IE8 but under About Internet Explorer it was still listed as IE6, and we were still receiving the update to IE8 messages!

    So needless to say I experienced this same thing yesterday.

    What did I do? I reinstalled IE8. When you reinstall IE8 it will remove previous versions and install version 8. Something could have went bad in the install....I say try again!

    NOTE: Was the IE8 .exe from Microsoft?
    NOTE2: I have no complaints about Chrome. I absolutely love it!
    That's the same problem I had a few times; I keep getting told on random websites to upgrade to IE8 but I already did that. And under "About IE" it says I have Version 8.0.6001.18702

    And yes, I went directly to Microsoft for my download and installation :) I've installed it at least twice so I don't know what the problem is.

    I tried reinstalling Firefox but realized why I switched back to IE: my RSS feeds just show a new link in Firefox but no indication the page has been updated, whereas in IE the link becomes bold when there's been an update.
    ITstudent2006's Avatar
    ITstudent2006 Posts: 2,243, Reputation: 329
    Networking Expert
     
    #7

    Jan 20, 2011, 01:46 PM

    Try deleting history, cookies, Cache etc...

    Maybe these website are cached. I am not even sure that would matter but it's all I can think of!
    this8384's Avatar
    this8384 Posts: 4,564, Reputation: 485
    Ultra Member
     
    #8

    Jan 20, 2011, 02:07 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by ITstudent2006 View Post
    Try deleting history, cookies, Cache etc...

    Maybe these website are cached. I am not even sure that would matter but it's all I can think of!
    I should have explained better. The RSS feeds I subscribe to are for court cases; when there's new activity posted to that case, the feed updates. On IE, the link becomes bold so I know there's new info.

    On Mozilla, it simply adds another link. Say there's 4 updates to the single page and the court adds new info today; it will add another link showing 5 links to the same page. It's nice when you have a small case but when you have a larger case with lots of info, it's a pain to have to count how many links there are just to determine whether there's been an update or not.

    And I run Microsoft Security Essentials, CCleaner and Advanced System Care at LEAST once a week. MSE is set to do a quick scan daily but I'll run a full scan every now and again just to make sure nothing's slipping in.
    ITstudent2006's Avatar
    ITstudent2006 Posts: 2,243, Reputation: 329
    Networking Expert
     
    #9

    Jan 21, 2011, 11:19 AM

    So is your question about IE6/IE8 or RSS Feeds with Mozilla vs IE?

    I am unsure what you're trying to figure out.
    1. Why IE8 still receives errors about being IE6 or
    2. RSS Feeds working different in Mozilla then IE
    this8384's Avatar
    this8384 Posts: 4,564, Reputation: 485
    Ultra Member
     
    #10

    Jan 21, 2011, 12:35 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by ITstudent2006 View Post
    So is your question about IE6/IE8 or RSS Feeds with Mozilla vs IE?

    I am unsure what you're trying to figure out.
    1. Why IE8 still receives errors about being IE6 or
    2. RSS Feeds working different in Mozilla then IE
    I never had a question about Mozilla RSS feeds; I just said I didn't like the way they displayed because there's no indication of an update.

    I was wondering why I keep being told to upgrade my IE when I already had. I've downloaded it and installed it more than once, cleared my history and cache and cookies... nothing works.
    ITstudent2006's Avatar
    ITstudent2006 Posts: 2,243, Reputation: 329
    Networking Expert
     
    #11

    Jan 21, 2011, 05:34 PM

    Ok, thanks for clarifying. I would suggest searching the forums on Microsoft as I have never heard this before until I happened to me. All I did was reinstall but you have tried that with no luck so I am at a lost.

    I too will search and post anything I find.

    Good luck!
    this8384's Avatar
    this8384 Posts: 4,564, Reputation: 485
    Ultra Member
     
    #12

    Nov 11, 2011, 08:07 AM
    Well, it took almost 10 months - but I finally found the solution!

    Some sites say I need to upgrade to IE8, when I already have it. - Microsoft Answers

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

 

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.


Check out some similar questions!

Internet explorer will not stay loaded and I can not download anything from internet [ 6 Answers ]

My computer did some updates a couple days ago and since then internet explorer will not stay up it closes down. I cannot download anything to find out what is wrong. Any suggestions? Please help. Thank you

Internet explorer [ 6 Answers ]

I don`t know what happen , but when I click on internet icon ,the explorer cannot display de webpage

Internet explorer won't connect to the internet [ 5 Answers ]

Internet explorer won't connect to the internet. I know that the connection is fine as Firefox works. I have cable broadband through a wireless connection. When I try to use Explorer it comes up with Internet explorer annot display the webpage. I have tried to look at other threads but can't seem...

Internet OK.just can't get Firefox or internet explorer to work [ 1 Answers ]

Hello I have.windows XP.I have d-link wireless for both laptops and netgear for this laptop,other laptop is fine.just can't load up a web page on this laptop.have mozilla Firefox.and internet explorer.I have looked at settings but I not sure what I am looking for, any help would be welcome


View more questions Search