Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jackjones Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 13, 2011, 10:40 AM
    Tax Form 2011
    My parents will claim me as a dependent. I'm a part time working student and will file as well. Which form should I use to get the biggest refund?
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Jan 13, 2011, 10:52 AM
    If properly prepared, the refund will be the same; it does NOT matter which form you use.

More than likely, Form 1040EZ will be the form to be used, but you have NOT provided enough information for me to determine FOR SURE that Form 1040EZ is best for you.
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Jan 13, 2011, 01:57 PM

If someone can claim you dependent, you can not claim your own exemption.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Jan 14, 2011, 10:04 AM
    What MukatA says is true, but there are other issues involved.

MOST of the time, it makes sense to NOT claim your own exemption and let your parents claim you, because your $3,650 personal exemption is worth MORE to them than to you because they are likely in a MUCH higher tax bracket.

However, if their income is exceptionally high, your personal exemption is NOT the only issue. Education deductions/credits may also be a tax issue, and if their income exceeds a certain amount, they CANNOT claim these credits/deduction while YOU can, but only if you claim your OWN personal exemption.

If you want a detailed analysis, email me at [email protected] with your income level and your parents' income level and let me do an estimate (no charge).

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

OPT Tax Filing for 2011 [ 2 Answers ]